Netflix is one of the biggest services on the Internet that allows you to stream movies and TV series and watch them whenever you want to. The network houses some of the best and the most popular TV shows and all-time popular movies. So if you watch a lot of shows on Netflix and you don’t want anyone to know your viewing list, then you can delete your Netflix history from your account. If you don’t know how to do that, then don’t worry as in this article we will see how to delete Netflix history or clear the watching list.
If you are using Netflix and sharing your account with your friends and family members, then they will be shown the recommendations based on the shows and movies that you have watched. This might not be the best thing all the time. There are some adult movies or horror movies that your parents might not approve of, so you need to avoid them from discovering your viewing history. A simple way to do this would be to delete the recently watched list or you can delete the entire Netflix history by creating new profile.
How to Delete Netflix History Completely?
One of the most amazing feature of Netflix is that you can create multiple profiles within your account. Each profile can be different from others with its own viewing history, preferences and parental controls.
You can create as many profiles as you want. If you have kids, then you can create a profile for them with proper parental controls and keep a watch on their viewing list.
However, when you want to clear the viewing history from your account, you simply have to delete the profile from where you want to delete the history. By doing so, all the viewing history from that particular profile will be deleted and you will be able to create a new profile and start again from scratch.
You will not only lose your viewing history but you will also lose all the preferences and movie ratings from that profile but since we are able to remove Netflix history using this method, it’s worth a shot.
Here is the step-by-step guide on how to delete Netflix history by removing the profile from your account.
Login to your Netflix account using your username and password.
Once logged in, click on the profile button on the top-right corner and from the drop-down menu, select Manage Profiles.
You will see a list of all the profiles that you have created in your account.
Select the profile that you want to delete the viewing history from by clicking the Edit button.
Finally, click the Delete Profile button to delete the complete profile from your account.
After deleting the profile, you can create a new profile with no previous records or history. This is a great thing about Netflix because you don’t have to change the whole Netflix account to get rid of the viewing history. You can simply delete the profile and create a new profile to remove Netflix history.
You can also use the Edit feature to set the preferences and parental controls on the particular profiles. This was how you can delete the entire history from Netflix be removing the complete profile. However, if you want to remove the particular shows, then read the next section.
If you want to remove the complete history from a particular profile, then deleting that profile might be the best idea. However, if you are looking to delete only a particular show or movie from your viewing list, then you don’t need to delete the profile to do so.
You can remove any shows and movies from your watched list by following the below steps. Once you have completed the steps, the show or movie that you selected will be removed from viewing history on all the devices within 24 hours.
Login to your Netflix account with the login credentials.
Once you are logged in, click on the profile icon on the top-right corner and then click on Your Account from the drop-down menu.
Scroll down on the page until you see the My Profile section. Click on the Viewing Activity under My Profile to launch the My Activity page.
On the My Activity page, you will see the complete list of all the TV shows and movies that you have watched. Find out the show or movie that you want to remove from your account and click on the “X” button on the right side of the list.
Once you have clicked on the X button, the show or movie will be removed from the viewing history on all the devices that you use Netflix on within 24 hours.
So that were the steps that you can follow to either delete the complete profile and remove all the Netflix history or remove the selected items from your watch list. Either way, you will be able to delete Netflix history from your account.
I hope that you liked the article and if you have friends who use Netflix on a regular basis to watch movies and TV series, then share the article with them as well and tell them about the simple ways to delete Netflix history and the recently watched list!